About Jo

Jo has been working in the School  of Engineering at RGU in Scotland for 10 years leading the enhancement of engineering learning and teaching and use of edtech. Prior to this she taught geology online for RGU and briefly for Illinois State University using SecondLife while touring her music. Her SL avatar age is 12 now! Before this she worked as a geologist.

She composes and performs music under the name of Jo McCafferty or Neosome depending on the day :0). Jo played with lots of different artists including Midge Ure, Donnie Munro (Runrig), Fish, Marillion and Glenn Tilbrook. She played Amsterdam Paradiso, Glasgow’s Barrowland Ballroom, Croydon’s Fairfield Halls, and other great venues throughout Europe and the US.

In 2005 she put together a 5 piece band to play with Amanda Palmer, singer from The Dresden Dolls.  She supported Marillion again in Portsmouth in June 2007, and at their fanclub Convention in Port Zelande in 2011.

In 2007 she was commissioned by NGT publishing who were producing a short documentary, “Dee and Don: Inspiration”. The documentary was an accompaniment to a book of the same name and was released in limited edition.

In 2009 she recorded ‘Overtaking on a Bend’. The cover art and inside CD sleeve was designed by Stuart Mitchell who had previously designed the cover for Papercuts and Lime and who has driven her to countless gigs.

Since becoming a mother in 2012, she pulled back from the live music scene but occasional outings have included performances with Joan Armatrading, and Miles Hunt and Erica Nockalls (Wonder Stuff). In 2016 she put together a 10 piece band revisiting much of her back catalogue including songs she wrote as an angsty teen and played the Lemon Tree in Aberdeen in aid of the Scottish Association for Mental Health.

When she is not working on neoSome or working at RGU she is working towards her PhD looking at the mental health and wellbeing of engineering students and learning the harp.


  • Nothing Whispered to Katy (1994)
  • Radiaxial (2001)
  • The 8 Year Gap (2003)
  • Papercuts & Lime (2004)
  • Games For One (2004) (best of and studio recordings)
  • Live At The Moorings (2005) (plus studio recordings)
  • Overtaking on a Bend (2010) (Full band)